Spring – Ice Cream – Homework

One of my favorite times of the year is when the weather is warm. The birds are chirping, and the air smells like flowers and fresh cut grass. Though today is the first day of spring, the forecast suggests snow which is a bit of a downer. The past two weeks have been quite agreeable, still chilly in the morning but warm enough in the afternoon. Beautiful weather for a jog after school. Admittedly, I’ve been readily awaiting spring break since the end of winter break. This year has been driving by at a rapid speed and I rarely have time to stop and breathe. I think the 10 year old me would be proud, she loved to be kept busy. Nevertheless, I’m approaching my 4th lap, my home run, my end zone. The last 2 months are crucial, they’ll be tough, and there might be shouts of frustration. Honestly, I’m a little scared. But we’ll push on, cross our fingers, and stay hopeful. I’ll admit, knowing that warm weather is around the corner helps.

The first day of spring also entails free Italian ice from your local Rita’s. As much as I’d like to get my hands on some of that action, I’m not really looking to wait outside in a line for it. When’s the best time to get free Italian ice? All the time. Hence, the foot traffic should be heavy. All the time. Well that’s mighty inconvenient. I’m still debating whether it’s worth it to pause my work in progress for some free ice.

I’ve found that I’ve become a victim of procrastination. Every Sunday, I’ve found myself in a predicament where I’m overwhelmed by papers and textbooks and journals. Sometimes when I’m really tired, I torture myself by thinking about all the things I have to do. The list grows and divides so quickly that sometimes I wonder if I really have a chance at all. My school work load is large, but as a junior in high school, I also have to consider my extra-curricular activities, standardized tests, and plans for college. Recently, I’ve chosen my classes for senior year. I think my choices reflect me in different ways. Either I’m an ambitious student who likes to challenge herself or I’m a light sadist who likes to torture herself. Will definitely be keeping tabs on how much suffering I’m feeling weekly.

Leave a Reply

