Math – Internships – Criminal Intelligence

Math is hard. Sometimes it’s manageable. But when it’s hard, it’s really hard. I now know how kids felt last year about pre-calculus. Before AP calculus, I never had trouble with math. It was not a class I ever worried about. I did the homework and that was enough. Studying wasn’t part of my lifestyle at all, especially not for mathematics. All this is making me realize that maybe I’m not as good as I thought I was. I should probably take a step back and learn a lesson in humility but also study more… a lot more.

I’m a junior in high school. Many people are familiar with what a stressful time this is. Honestly, it’s a lot of work but I’m not quite breaking yet. This of course can change at any time, especially with AP exams coming in May. I received an email recently about a possible internship that I would’ve been crazy about 3 years ago. Today, I’m not so sure. Frankly, I’m not sure what I’m going to be doing in college or after as a matter of fact. I’m quite lost in between all the majors and the possibilities. But, I like to be prepared. I like to give myself options. So I’m prepared to try out for this internship and see where it leads. Basically, I’m looking to do this internship to figure out what I’m interested in. A little ironic, a little backwards, usually people look out for internships they’re interested in pursuing as a career but I’m still searching. But with this internship process, I have to do a good amount of work. It’s especially overwhelming because it’s my first time meaning I have no “cover letter”, no “resume”, and no idea of how to ask for recommendations. But it’s time to break out of my comfort zone and think about the future.

Criminals are some smart, creative cookies. The recent Brussels bombing has once again instilled insecurity in people all around the world. In fact, in the past decades fear has accumulated greatly as the number of terrorist attacks across the globe have increased. These people, they dedicate their lives to devising plans to implant terror in others. Needless to say, their commitment, perseverance, and intelligence is unquestionable. It’s got me thinking about an alternate universe. One where criminals use their intelligence and devotion to spread positivity. How incredible would that be?

Leave a Reply

