Ditching – Productivity – College apps

I ditched school for the first time in my life. It’s actually one of the first times I’ve had an opportunity to do so since I have my driver’s license and a car. In my defense, it was one of the stupidest school days I’ve ever had. By stupid I mean pointless. I’ve been pretty much done with school since mid- May since I had finished all my assignments and all the grade books have closed for my classes. So I’ve been waking up at 6:30 every morning just to go to school to watch movies all day or do tedious busy work and then go home. You can see how this gets old very fast. I need rapid stimulation. I’m used to it because of my vigorous course schedule. And if I’m going to do nothing, I’d much rather do it at home. So on a Friday, I decided I had enough. I had the SAT the next day and I was about to leave during the last hour of my class to study for it. Even my teacher has decided that school wasn’t worth coming to anymore and has left us a mean amount of busy work that may never be looked at. I did it and then came up with a legitimate excuse to leave the class. After which I thought I was home free and left school. That was until some of my other classmates had similar ideas and left as well. At this point, it was quite noticeable that the class was half-empty. Which of course means we’re all busted. Overall, it was an exhilarating experience at first, but it quickly got frustrating upon the realization that we’ve been caught. Probably will not be doing it again this school year.

 

This summer, I’m going to be productive x7. I want to rid myself of my procrastinator mindset and opt for the jetsetter style instead. I’ll be vacationing for at least two weeks. I probably won’t be bringing my work with me but the rest of the summer will be productive. I’ve made a google calendar that plots out all the events I have going on as well as what I plan to do each day to keep my brain from rusting. One of my priorities is prepping for my classes next year. I do have summer packets for 3 classes. It’s a good amount of work. Unfortunately. I just want to make sure that I don’t wait until the last day to do all the work like last year. Last year, I spent my lunch breaks doing work and then stayed up until 2 am during the first day of school to finish my work. That was a representative prerequisite to my junior year. I’m striving to be proactive so that I can sleep early and get things done for maximum productivity.

 

Another thing I have to worry about this summer is college apps. College apps are only a piece of the college process. I also have to think about financial needs, figure out how FAFSA works, apply for scholarships and cross my fingers etc. Currently, there are only about 4 colleges on my list. I definitely need more. But more colleges mean more applications and more application fees. I’ve heard scary stories about college app season and I can only hope that past seniors were exaggerating or overstating to prepare me mentally. But the likelihood of this is low. Currently the motto is start early and push on.

Leave a Reply

