Rio – Maladies – Athletes

No event makes me want to jump out of bed, off my couch, and out the door to the track or local pool faster than the Olympics. Michael Phelps has been a hero to kids across America since 2008. Katie Ledecky, young humble lady who’s also made her way into the hearts of many. Usain Bolt, fastest man in the world, quick as lightning, fan-favorite. What do they all have in common? They’re record-breakers. They’re inspirations. They’re my aspirations. This month long marathon for athletes around the round is one of my favorite times of the year and it only comes once every 4 years so of course I have to talk about it. These people are superhuman. They’re not just athletes but performers. They make it look easy. Physically appealing and very charismatic, people I’d very much like to meet. This is why I’d like to go to the Olympics one day. Not to compete of course, I would crack under that pressure. But to watch these people live.

 

I’ve caught a bug upon returning from Florida. I think I got it from my mom. It’s been going on for about 4 days now. I think I actually prefer being sick in the summer over the winter. I feel less horrible because I’m not as cold. Oh how I dread the cold. But here’s my question. Should one go to work when they’re sick? Ignoring how you personally feel. Obviously if you can barely walk or having a major migraine, you wouldn’t be much use to anyone. But I’m saying if you feel alright but sound and look terrible. What about that? Should you still go in? When I think about this, I would come up with no. I don’t know if I’m biased, being an employee and all. But I feel like if there’s a chance you can infect others, you should stay away if you can. It can’t feel good to be around people that are constantly sneezing, blowing their nose, and wheezing after every cough especially when you’re in the restaurant business. I’m just imagining how some customers may catch me in the middle of a coughing fit and lose their appetite and confidence in the restaurant. But then you’re hanging your coworkers out to dry because they’ll be a man short and extremely overwhelmed. Either way, you’re the bad guy. Don’t get sick.

 

Continuing with the previous topic on Rio, I’ve made a small observation about competitive renowned sports events. We all have favored athletes and they tend to be the most popular athletes. It’s sort of a band-wagon effect. You hear about them, you watch them, they win the event and your heart. But what about the other guys? We think “oh he got 8th place, he sucks.” That is ridiculous and I feel ridiculous having to say this. But I’m just as guilty of ignorance sometimes. The fact that you simply make the Olympic team is a feat on its own. Sometimes, in our competitive mindsets we seem to overlook this. It makes me a little sore for the less known athletes. All athletes are great. They’ve all put in hard work that other people wouldn’t. At the Olympic level however, I think it’s more about talent than hard work.

Leave a Reply

