Running is fun – Physics is fun – French is fun

Running is fun. That sentence, those words, have never come out of my mouth before and I highly doubt they will any time in the future. Some people adore running. They act like they hate it. They act like it exhausts them. But in reality, nothing is more gratifying. I am not one of those people. When I say, running is not my cup of tea, I mean it. But I’m the type of person that likes to turn something they hate to do into something they can bare, sometimes even enjoy. I have broken up and made up with running many times. What I’ve found to be the most helpful is joining a group or a team that will push you to keep going even when you desperately want to quit. The first steps are always the hardest. However, once you push past that first mile, it gets much easier. All in all, run because you can, not because you have to. More importantly, do it for your health, physical and mental.

 

I believe that physics is one of my most gratifying classes. I’ve been taking it for a week. Having previously taken calculus, the first week of physics is naturally a breeze. But that’s not what makes it feel gratifying. It’s the homework. My physics assignments are posted online and the problems are done online. More importantly, I can check the answers as I do them. Of course a wrong answer brings a giant red X which brings sadness. But a correct answer brings a giant green check mark which brings excitement and wacky dance moves. Right now, I can handle physics alright. But I won’t be letting my guard down anytime soon because I expect it to be much harder in the future.

 

My senior year in high school and I’ve found myself in the class of a new French teacher. My old French teacher had decided to retire my junior year. I wasn’t sure I felt about this change until I truly connected to this new teacher. In the short time I’ve known her, I’ve already felt more appreciated, my efforts more acknowledged, than previously. I’m in my prime for French. This is the best I’ve ever been and nothing frees a person like finally breaking through the language barrier. I still have a long way to go. The idea of taking the AP French exam is scary. Listening and speaking are not my strengths. Writing (conjugations) aren’t either. What I do have however is determination and a strong work-ethic which I am ready to invest into my French class.

Leave a Reply

