Coffee Break French – Adult – Drives

I’ve been taking French class since I was in 7th grade. I’ve dedicated many years, stressful nights, and difficult days to this language. While it was a struggle to try to do the homework, it was an even greater struggle not being able to communicate effectively with my teacher. That class made me feel incredibly incompetent and frustrated. I think language is the most difficult subject to learn because you simply can’t understand what the teacher is saying. It’s especially difficult when teachers insist on an English-free classroom. How exactly are students supposed to learn a language when they have no words to match against it? Anyways, through my initial struggles with the French language, I decided that I needed to put it extra effort and greater dedication to the class than any other. As a result, I spent a lot of time with online French translators and dictionaries and I’m always looking to find more affordable Rosetta Stone-esque options. There are many apps out there that help people learn new languages. But since I’ve been advancing a lot more in recent years, I’m able to pinpoint where my weaknesses are. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not strong in any aspect of the language. But there are certain ones that are extra difficult for me to get down. I think the most challenging thing currently is understanding spoken French. For me, I can understand my teacher about 85% of the time which is pretty good in my book. But when I listen to podcasts and radio stations, I’m completely lost. I just feel like they talk too fast and too slang for me to really understand what’s being said. So now, I’m practicing with podcasts. Listening like everything else improves with practice. Currently, I’m listening to the Coffee break podcast and I’m really enjoying it.

I’m an adult! Not by law, but I’m practically there. These stresses I’m feeling, they are not adolescent stresses, they’re grown-up, big man problems. However, I have to say: playing the part of adult without the label relieves me of a lot of pressure. To be honest, I’m not ready for the title. I don’t particularly care for it because the more adult I become, the closer I am to not being a teen anymore and the closer I am to being thirty. Yikes.

Driving is a wonderful feeling. When it’s warm outside and the window’s down and the smell of fresh cut grass invades your senses: that’s the best time of the year in my opinion. A lot of people say that once you drive for a certain time, you’ll get sick of it. I hope that never happens because driving has become a therapeutic release for me, similar to hot showers. Unfortunately, I don’t have many opportunities nor funds to explore new roads and routes. I basically drive the same road every day but I still look forward to it. After all, it’s not so much about the destination as it is about the journey. And my journey is rocking. I think in the car is one of the only times I get a chance to just listen to music and jam out. And let me just say: nothing makes you feel more like an adult than being on the road on your own where you are responsible for your actions no matter your age. A little scary but also satisfying.

Leave a Reply

