Fear Shakespeare – 2017 – October

Every year we read Shakespeare. Every year, it’s a dreaded activity. I don’t think I’ve ever read an actual Shakespearean play cover to cover. There’s not enough time and I don’t have enough motivation. I generally opt for Sparknote’s No Fear Shakespeare which is honestly a lifesaver 100% of the time. However, recently I’ve begun to feel a little guilty about my little cheat sheet. When I take the time to analyze a passage from Shakespeare, I realize it’s completely doable. Simultaneously, I begin to understand why Shakespeare is such a hyped-up playwright. There’s depth, there’s rhythm, and the plays continue to have applicable themes to modern society. I may not enjoy reading Shakespeare the majority of the time, but I’ve learned to appreciate his writing.

2017 is just about a week away and I’m more excited for this upcoming year than I have been for any past years. First of all, I’m ready to create a new, 2017 category for TJJJ which means that we have reached out anniversary. I’m celebrating in spirit. Beyond that, there’s also the fact that I’m graduating this year. It’s a little bittersweet. I’ve had some wonderful experiences and memories and some not so great times, but I’m satisfied with my high school journey. And I am so so excited for what college has in store for me. To reflect upon 2016, I’m sad to say that it’s been one of the worst years of my life. Without going into depth, I’m just hoping and willing 2017 to go much better. As I am half a year away from graduating, I feel sentimental, but ecstatic for my next adventures.

According to my calendar to-do lists, I am still in October. Yes, I am 2 months (nearly 3) behind schedule. Everyday I slack a little more, and I fall a little more behind. As the school year is nearly half way complete, I’m constantly finding new things to add to my agenda. In an attempt to be organized, I often find myself writing to-do lists more than I’m actually doing them. If I could do one thing, this winter break, it would be to finish all the things on my Winter Break To-Do list.

Leave a Reply

