Classmates – Job – Scholarships

In life, there are competitors in nearly every aspect. School and work especially are breeding grounds for social and academic climbers. I think competition can be very healthy for kids. It keeps us humble and hard-working. Simultaneously, it can be rough to accept this. It feels like there are these standards that just can’t be lived up to. But you know, accepting that you can’t be the best at everything is part of growing up. We find ourselves at these points in our lives at different stages. Some in high school, some in college, some in the working world. A great alternative is to simply compete with yourself.

I’m at the brink of senior year. With the impending college tuition looming over me, I’ve began questioning just where my funds are coming from. Initially, I did not want a job before college. I wanted to spend my senior summer traveling and having fun with my friends. I want to be refreshed and rejuvenated for college. But there’s a sense of guilt gnawing at the back of my brain. And as a result, I’ve applied to a few openings. I’m quite torn between hoping that I won’t get the jobs and hoping that I might.

To help out with my little financial crisis that will be reoccuring every year for the next 6 years, I’ve found a couple dozen scholarships that I could reluctantly apply to every week. They’re quite a bit of work with the essays, and rec letters. Sometimes they’re videos. It’s quite strenuous and extra. And I’m highly doubtful of my chances. I simply assume that there are many other teenagers across the country applying to the same stuff. What makes me stand out? I wish I knew.

 

Leave a Reply

